Home » Italian Maps » Printable Map of Italy (Black & White and Color Versions)

Printable Map of Italy (Black & White and Color Versions)

Updated on November 7, 2023

Use this free printable map of Italy to help you plan your trip to Italy, to use for a school project, or just hang it up on the wall and daydream about where you’d like to go in Italy!

The free printable map is available in black & white and color versions.

BLACK & WHITE VERSION: Click on the map to open the high-quality, printable PDF in another window:

Black and white political map of Italy.

COLOR VERSION: Click on the map to open the high-quality, printable PDF in another window:

Color political map of Italy.

What is the Capital of Italy?

The Colosseum in Rome, Italy.
The Colosseum, in Rome

Rome is the capital of Italy.  It’s located in the region of Lazio, in central Italy.

Which Countries Border Italy?

Entering Italy from France on the Autostrada.  Blue Italy sign with the yellow stars of the EU.  Lush green hillside and a tunnel up ahead.
Entering Italy from France

Italy shares borders with 16 countries – six by land, and ten by sea.

Six countries share a land border with Italy:

  • France
  • Switzerland
  • Austria
  • Slovenia
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City

Both San Marino and Vatican City are land-locked by Italy.

Ten countries share maritime (sea) borders with Italy:

  • Spain
  • Croatia
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Montenegro
  • Albania
  • Greece
  • Libya
  • Tunisia
  • Algeria
  • Malta

Which Seas Border Italy?

Boy sitting with his beach toys on the northern coast of Sardegna, Italy.  Clear blue water and boats in the distance.
At the beach in Sardegna, on the Tyrrhenian Sea

Italy touches four seas:

  • Ligurian Sea (to the west)
  • Tyrrhenian Sea (to the west)
  • Ionian Sea (to the southeast)
  • Adriatic Sea (to the east)

These seas are part of the larger Mediterranean Sea.

How Many Regions Does Italy Have?

Graphic map of Italy with its 20 regions labeled.

Italy has 20 Regions:

  • Abruzzo
  • Basilicata
  • Calabria
  • Campania
  • Emilia-Romagna
  • Friuli Venezia Giulia
  • Lazio
  • Liguria
  • Lombardia (Lombardy)
  • Marche
  • Molise
  • Piemonte (Piedmont)
  • Puglia (Apulia)
  • Sardegna (Sardinia)
  • Sicilia (Sicily)
  • Toscana (Tuscany)
  • Trentino-Alto Adige
  • Umbria
  • Valle d’Aosta (Aosta Valley)
  • Veneto

There are five autonomous regions:  Friuli Venezia Giulia, Sardegna (Sardinia), Sicilia (Sicily), Trentino-Alto Adige, and Valle d’Aosta (Aosta Valley).

In the 20 regions (regioni) of Italy, there are 107 provinces (province) and 7,904 towns (comuni).

Population of Italy

Black and white photo of people and pigeons in Piazza San Marco, Venice, Italy.
Piazza San Marco, Venice

The population of Italy is just over 59 million.

Cities on the Map of Italy

This printable map is labeled with the following cities in Italy:

Some smaller towns aren’t shown on the map. You may want to learn more about some of them:

Check out our other printable maps of Italy:
Printable Map of Italy for Kids
Printable Italy Train Map

Source:  Istat, 2021.

Candice Criscione Avatar